Marinas must comply with 38 criteria falling into these categories:

Environmental Education and Information

Water Quality

Environmental Management

Safety and Services

Social Responsibility

Social and Community Involvement

Download the international marina criteria and explanations for award here: BLUE FLAG MARINA CRITERIA 2021.

The Marina award is currently in a feasibility stage in the US. Staff is currently collecting information on criteria, comparable programs, and interested sites. If you are interested in bringing the program to your marina or work in the marina industry and can provide US context to the criteria, please reach out to staff through our contact page.